SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION – SCHOOL DISTRICT OF COLBY MONDAY, APRIL 23, 2018 COLBY HIGH SCHOOL DISTANCE LEARNING LAB

The Special School Board Meeting on April 23, 2018, was called to order at 6:00 p.m. in the Colby High School Distance Learning Lab by Board President, William Tesmer. Members present were William Tesmer, Cheryl Ploeckelman, Jean Schmitt, Todd Schmidt, Teri Hanson, Jennifer Lopez and Eric Elmhorst. Also present were Superintendent Steven Kolden and Kristen Seifert. Student Board Representative Carley Elmhorst was absent.

The meeting notice was posted according to the requirements of the open meeting law.

Mr. Tesmer, Board President called for the Election of Officers: Mr. Elmhorst nominated William Tesmer for Board President. No other nominations. Motion by Mr. Elmhorst, seconded by Mrs. Lopez, to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Mr. Tesmer for Board President. Voice vote - motion carried.

Mr. Elmhorst nominated Cheryl Ploeckelman for Board Vice President. No other nominations. Motion by Mrs. Lopez, seconded by Mr. Schmidt, to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Mrs. Ploeckelman for Board Vice President. Voice vote - motion carried.

Mr. Elmhorst nominated Todd Schmidt for Board Clerk. No other nominations. Motion by Mr. Elmhorst, seconded by Mrs. Ploeckelman, to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Mr. Schmidt for Board Clerk. Voice vote - motion carried.

Mrs. Ploeckelman nominated Jennifer Lopez for Board Treasurer. No other nominations. Motion by Mrs. Ploeckelman, seconded by Mrs. Hanson, to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Mrs. Lopez for Board Treasurer. Voice vote - motion carried.

Mr. Tesmer, Board President, made the following committee and position appointments:

Teri Hanson as WASB Annual Meeting Delegate. Alternate – Jennifer Lopez

Teri Hanson as CESA #10 Annual Meeting Delegate. Alternate – Cheryl Ploeckelman

Jennifer Lopez as Representative to the Colby IDEA Foundation, Inc.

William Tesmer as Representative to the District Technology Committee

Cheryl Ploeckelman as Representative to the ESEA Plan Committee

Jennifer Lopez, Board Treasurer, as Pension Plan Trustee

Kristen Seifert as Recording Secretary for Board of Education Meetings

Motion by Mrs. Ploeckelman, seconded by Mrs. Lopez, to designate the Nicolet Bank, Advantage Community Bank and Forward Financial Bank as depositories for school district funds. Voice vote - motion carried.

Motion by Mr. Schmidt, seconded by Mr. Elmhorst to designate Ruder Ware as the Legal Counsel to the District. Voice vote – motion carried. The District will seek bids for the 2019-20 school year.

Motion by Mrs. Lopez, seconded by Mr. Elmhorst to approve Johnson Block & Company for audit services. Voice vote – motion carried.

Motion by Mr. Elmhorst, seconded by Mr. Schmidt to designate the Tribune Phonograph as the official paper of publication for school district business. Voice vote – motion carried.

Motion by Mrs. Ploeckelman, seconded by Mrs. Lopez to approve the use of signature stamp/facsimile signatures for Board of Education officers. Voice vote – motion carried.

Mr. Tesmer, Board President, appointed the following members to Board of Education Standing Committees:

Policy & Curriculum Committee – Cheryl Ploeckelman, Chair, Bill Temser, Teri Hanson Facilities & Transportation Committee – Todd Schmidt, Chair, Jean Schmitt, Bill Tesmer Personnel Committee – Jennifer Lopez, Chair, Todd Schmidt, Jean Schmitt Financial Affairs Committee – Jennifer Lopez, Chair, Eric Elmhorst, Teri Hanson

Motion by Mrs. Ploeckelman, seconded by Mrs. Lopez, to approve the 2018-19 Board Meeting schedule including dates and locations as presented including the annual meeting at the Colby High School Distance Learning Lab with a start time of 6:30 PM for regular Board meetings. The October board meeting will be Monday, October 29, 2018. Voice vote - motion carried.

Motion by Mr. Elmhorst, seconded by Mrs. Lopez, to adjourn the meeting. Voice vote - motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:23 PM

Respectfully Submitted:

Eric Elmhorst, Clerk

Kristen Seifert, Recording Secretary